Nomination Committee

Every three years, the SANORD Council appoints a Nominations Committee consisting of 8 members (4 from each region). The role of the Nominations Committee is to advise on the election of Officers/Committees, peruse new membership applications, applications for theme group projects and make recommendations to the Board, according to their discretion.

Aarhus University

Jan Ifversen

Faculty of Arts


University of Jyväskylä

Johanna Kivimäki

Acting Coordinator – UniPid


University of Turku

Irinja Paakkenaan

Head of International Affairs


Rhodes University

Roddy Fox

Geography Department


Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Chris Nhlapo

Research & Innovation


University of Lusaka

Pinalo Chifwanakeni

Vice Chancellor (Rector)


Lund University

Pär Svensson

External Projects


University of Zimbabwe

Naomi Wekwete

Lecturer: Centre for Population Studies


Dear all friends of the SANORD community. 

The organising committee follows the pandemic situation closely. Many of us in the SANORD community are now busy working around challenges and solutions for our respective campuses, and for many the work situation has been challenged by the situation. 

As of now, we plan to organise SANORD 2021 6-? September, as scheduled. We will, however, adjust if governmental and institutional advice informs us otherwise. This will be clarified at a later stage, and we will keep you updated here. 

We sincerely hope to see you in a healthy Bergen in September! 

Stay healthy,

The SANORD 2020 team

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal