The Board is elected by and reports to the SANORD Council. The Board meets quarterly, three times through teleconferences and one time in a physical meeting held in conjunction with an academic event and the annual Council meeting. The Board consists of the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson and 6 other members of the Council for a period of two years.


Dr. Lavern Samuels

Director of the International Education and Partnerships (IEP) Directorate at the Durban University of Technology (DUT)

Durban University of Technology


Prof Stine Grønvold

Vice Rector for Education

Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences

Dr Sami Pirkola

Vice-dean research for the Faculty of Social Sciences, Professor of Social Psychiatry Health Sciences

Tampere University

Professor Pia Cecilie Bing-Jonsson

Rector: University of South Eastern Norway

University of South-Eastern Norway

Prof Jose Frantz

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Innovation at the University of the Western Cape

Prof Lena Eskilsson

Rector , Deputy-Vice Chancellor

Lund University

SANORD Central Office

Umesh Bawa

Director: International Relations

+27 21 959 2487

University of the Western Cape

Kelly Cyster

Administrator and Secretariat

+27 21 959 3802

SANORD Central Office (University of the Western Cape)

Nicole Umwizerwa

Administrative Officer

+27 21 959 3802

SANORD Central Office (University of the Western Cape)