The Board is elected by and reports to the SANORD Council. The Board meets quarterly, three times through teleconferences and one time in a physical meeting held in conjunction with an academic event and the annual Council meeting. The Board consists of the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson and 6 other members of the Council for a period of two years.


Gro Anita Fonnes Flaten

Pro-Rector – Research

+47 55 587 813

Western Norway University of Applied Sciences

Bjarke Paarup

Head of the School of Culture and Society

+45 87 162 158

Aarhus University

Prof. Yogi Naik

+263-29-228 0376

National University of Science and Technology (NUST)

Cecilia Christersson

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Global Engagement and Challenge Based Learning

+46 72 743 5767

Malmö University

Juha Teperi

Dean – Faculty of Social Sciences

+35 84 051 33714

Tampere University

Orlando Quilambo


+25 82 142 7851

Eduardo Mondlane University

Maureen Davis

Administrator and Secretariat

+27 21 959 3802

SANORD Central Office (University of the Western Cape)

University of Pretoria

Umesh Bawa

Director: International Relations

+27 21 959 2487

University of the Western Cape